2017 SAMLA Award Winners

SAMLA Studies Awards
Monograph – James Diedrick, Agnes Scott College

 Mathilde Blind: Late Victorian Culture and the Woman of Letters

Edited Volume – Adam J. Goldwyn, North Dakota State University 
and Renée Silverman, Florida International University
Mediterranean Modernism


SAR Essay Prize

Mark Osteen, Loyola University Maryland
“Alfred in Wonderland: Hitchcock through the Looking Glass”

Honorable Mention
Kamilla Elliott, Lancaster University
“Unfilmable Books”


Honorary Member Award
Natasha Trethewey, Northwestern University


Graduate Student Creative Writing Award

The categories alternate annually (Poetry in 2017, Prose in 2018).

Poetry – Chelsea Dingman, University of South Florida


Graduate Student Essay Award
Michelle Sherwin, Florida State University
“The Evolution of Foucault’s Utopic Panopticon:
Technology and the Creation of a Dystopia in Big Brother


George Mills Harper Graduate Student Travel Fund Award

Danielle Gilman, University of Georgia
“‘The World’s Worst Failure’: Rebecca West and the New Republic”

Honorable Mention
Primavera Cuder, Florida International University
“Identidades silenciadas y auto-impuestas: mulatos y mestizos en las Tradiciones de Ricardo Palma” /
“Silent and Self-Imposed Identities: Mulattoes and Mestizos in Ricardo Palmas’ Tradiciones


Undergraduate Essay Award
Olivia Taylor, Palm Beach Atlantic University

“Virginia Woolf and the Quest for a Woman Writer’s Utopia”