Honorary Members

SAMLA proudly extends honorary memberships to individuals for their scholarly work and professional contributions to SAMLA and to their respective fields of study.

Nomination forms and additional information can be found on the Honorary Member Award page.

Please contact Dan Abitz at [email protected] or 404-413-5816 with any questions.

Previous Recipients:

Weldon Thornton Germaine Brée +
H. R. "Stoney" Stoneback Elizabeth Spencer
Joseph Flora James Dickey +
Virginia Spencer Carr + William Bennett
Enrique Ruiz-Fornells Julien Green +
W. Ronald Schuchard A.R. Ammons +
Harper Lee Charlotte Young
Sena Jeter Naslund Walker Percy +
Lieselotte Kurth William Styron +
George Mills Harper + Shelby Foote +

Lee Smith

J. William Fulbright +
Nathan Scott Andrew Lytle +
Louis D. Rubin, Jr. + Q. O. McAllister
John Dowling John G. Kunstmann +
Carlos Rojas Cleanth Brooks+
Richard J. Finneran + Erskine Caldwell +
Doris W. Betts + Katherine Anne Porter +
Maryse Condé Allen Tate +
James Still + Frank Duffey
Cormac McCarthy Francis Fergusson +
George Garrett + Maxwell A. Smith +
Reynolds Price +

C. Waller Barrett +

Maya Angelou + Jesse Stuart +
Richard Marius + Robert Penn Warren +
Annie Dillard Eudora Welty +
Wendell Berry

Helen Yakobson +

  Sergius Yakobson +































+ = Deceased