SAMLA Studies Book Award 

SAMLA accepts nominations for an outstanding book published during the previous calendar year (2018) in English or other modern languages in fields of language, culture, or literature outside mainstream U.S. literature. Complete this form  to nominate an author for the annual SAMLA Studies Award. Nomination forms can be sent to the SAMLA office via e-mail at [email protected], RE: “2019 SAMLA Studies Award Nomination for (nominee’s name).” 6 copies of the nominated book should be mailed to:

Suite 2425
25 Park Place NE
Atlanta, GA 30030

Deadline for submitting a nomination form and for mailing copies of the book to the SAMLA office is February 25th, 2019.


Please contact Dan Abitz at [email protected] or 404.413.5816 with any questions.

2018 SAMLA Studies Book Award Winner – Monograph

book cover


The Medieval Invention of Travel

Shayne Aaron Legassie

University of Chicago Press


2018 SAMLA Studies Book Award Winner – Edited Volume

book cover

Adaptation in Visual Culture: Images, Texts, and Their Multiple Worlds

Julie Grossman and R. Barton Palmer

Palgrave Macmillan