SAMLA Studies Book Awards 

SAMLA accepts nominations of outstanding books published in English or other modern languages in the fields of language, culture, or literature. We honor two separate books each year: one monograph and one edited collection.

Please contact Dan Abitz at [email protected] with any questions regarding these awards.

2019 Award Winner – Monograph

Translating the World - Birgit Tautz

Translating the World:
Toward a New History of German Literature around 1800

Birgit Tautz
Bowdoin College

Penn State University Press

2019 Award Winner – Edited Volume

Pettey & Palmer - Rule, Britannia!

Rule, Britannia! The Biopic and British National Identity

Homer B. Pettey
University of Arizona

R. Barton Palmer
Clemson University

SUNY Press